Story Time is the Best Time (plus giveaway)

Drawn Together children's book reading

Family Time

One of the best and most amazing things I love to do with my kids is story time. I just love to read with them. It’s something I’ve always loved and cherished, ever since Natalie was a baby. She’s 13 now, but we still spend time reading together. Reading with my 5 year old Caleb (and his 10 year old brother Liam) is truly a treat. We sit down in bed and read so many books. Once we start, we just can’t seem to stop! That’s why I was so happy when Disney Hyperion sent me a copy to check out as part of my partnership for this giveaway!

My Nanna is from Malta and came to America many moons ago. The funny thing to me is that, while she is American, her accent and mannerisms still hold strong today. Along with the way she talks and walks, so many of her traditions and culture were a big part of my childhood. From Maltese Rice and Conserva, to the Maltese club and dances, it was simply a part of life. Growing up with that was a wonderful as I lived in two worlds at once! I was a NYC girl and a Maltese granddaughter. I think that’s why I was really, ahem, drawn to the children’s book Drawn Together by Minh Lê.

Drawn Together is such a fabulous book for so many reasons, I just have to tell you all about it. Come along for the read with me, won’t you??

Drawn Together children's book page samples

Drawn Together

Author Minh Lê and Caldecott-winning illustrator Dan Santat join forces in a heartwarming story of a grandfather and his grandson as they learn to overcome their language barrier through a shared love of art and storytelling.

When a young boy visits his grandfather, their lack of a common language leads to confusion, frustration, and silence. But as they sit down to draw together, something magical happens—with a shared love of art and storytelling, the two form a bond that goes beyond words. With spare, direct text by Minh Lê and luminous illustrations by Caldecott Medalist Dan Santat, this stirring picture book about reaching across barriers will be cherished for years to come.

Check Out the Video

If you love your videos like I do, you will love this!!! Watch the video on YouTube!

Giveaway Time

It’s never a bad time to celebrate, right? It’s truly never a bad time to celebrate love!!! As if the book isn’t amazing enough as it is, how about we spend a little time and talk about winning? I’m pretty sure you like to win, right? Let’s do it!!! One (1) lucky winner receives:

  • Copy of Drawn Together
  • plus a $50 Visa gift card to put towards a day with someone you love!

Giveaway open to US addresses only. Prizing and samples provided by Disney-Hyperion.

Drawn Together Children’s Book plus $50 Visa Gift Card

Drawn Together children's book cover with kids

About the Author

Minh Lê is a writer but, like his grandfather, is a man of few words. He is a national early childhood policy expert, author of Let Me Finish! (illustrated by Isabel Roxas), and has written for the New York Times, the Horn Book, and the Huffington Post. A first-generation Vietnamese-American, he went to Dartmouth College and has a master’s in education from Harvard University. Outside of spending time with his beautiful wife and sons in their home near Washington, DC, Minh’s favorite place to be is in the middle of a good book.

Minh Lê’s debut, Let Me Finish!, received critical acclaim, and this new picture book once again demonstrates his sensitivity to readers and mastery of the form.

About the Illustrator

I simply adore the illustrations in this book. They are vibrant and unique yet really homey and comfortable at the same time. The kids really loved it, too. Created artwork as beautiful as this is really a fantastic talent and something I really appreciate. I had to find out more about this man.

Dan Santat is the author and illustrator of the Caldecott Award-winning The Adventures of Beekle: The Unimaginary Friend, as well as The Cookie Fiasco, After the Fall, and others. He is also the creator of Disney’s animated hit, The Replacements. Dan lives in Southern California with his wife, two kids, and a menagerie of pets. Visit him at dantat.com.

Keep Up-To-Date Online

About Me


Check out Vera Sweeney's media kit here.

Subscribe to Lady and the Blog

Looking for weekly updates? Want to receive every recipe, free printable, and contest notification? I would love to have you part of my newsletter community.

.

Comments

  1. shelly peterson wrote:

    Spending time with my Grandmother

    Posted 6.14.18
  2. Betsy Barnes wrote:

    I have fond memories of making pizza with my Grandmother.

    Posted 6.14.18
  3. mami2jcn wrote:

    I had a tough childhood so I don’t have good memories…but I hope I can still enter the contest!

    Posted 6.14.18
  4. Michelle C wrote:

    I remember cooking and crafting with my grandmothers!

    Posted 6.14.18
  5. Cheryl B wrote:

    Some of our best memories were made spending time with my Grandmother as a child.

    Posted 6.14.18
  6. Calvin wrote:

    Having supreme breakfasts with the family

    Posted 6.14.18
  7. Clem wrote:

    Disneyland road trips

    Posted 6.15.18
  8. Elena wrote:

    The best memories are celebrating Christmas with my grandparents

    Posted 6.15.18
  9. shelly peterson wrote:

    Road trips with my family.

    Posted 6.15.18
  10. Cheryl wrote:

    I was a daddy’s girl. My best memories from growing up are spending time with my father.

    Posted 6.15.18
  11. Natalie wrote:

    Some of my favorite memories growing up were going on bike rides with my family. We would often times bring a picnic lunch and make it a full day!

    Posted 6.15.18
  12. Kelly Hanley wrote:

    Having my dad teach me how to ride a bike and taking me to local hockey games

    Posted 6.15.18
  13. mami2jcn wrote:

    6/15 I had a tough childhood so I don’t have good memories…but I hope I can still enter the contest!

    Posted 6.15.18
  14. Janet W. wrote:

    My best memories from growing up is going out on our pontoon boat with my family at the lake!

    Posted 6.15.18
  15. Betsy Barnes wrote:

    Camping at the lake with my Grandfather and cousins.

    Posted 6.15.18
  16. Kelly D wrote:

    My best memories are going swimming in our pool.

    Posted 6.15.18
  17. shannon fowler wrote:

    My best memory is going to disney with my family and christmas at my grandmothers house.

    Posted 6.15.18
  18. harold wrote:

    My Grandpa taking me fishing!

    Posted 6.15.18
  19. JANET LINDSEY wrote:

    My favorite memory is family meals being homemade from scratch

    Posted 6.16.18
  20. Cynthia C wrote:

    I really enjoyed riding my bike to the library in the summer to load up on books to read.

    Posted 6.16.18
  21. Ann Fantom wrote:

    My best memories growing up are the road trips my family took when I was very young

    Posted 6.16.18
  22. Margaret Smith wrote:

    Some of my best memories are going to the shore every summer with my family.

    Posted 6.16.18
  23. Peter G wrote:

    Going camping with my brother and father.

    Posted 6.16.18
  24. Angelica Dimeo wrote:

    mine were hanging out with friends and jumping in mud puddles

    Posted 6.16.18
  25. Edye wrote:

    Memories with family!

    Posted 6.16.18
  26. Betsy Barnes wrote:

    Riding my bicycle all over town and stopping for ice cream.

    Posted 6.16.18
  27. Nancy wrote:

    My best memories growing up are of living next door to my grandparents, next door on the other side to my aunt’s family, and near another set of cousins. We had great fun playing and doing things together as an extended family.

    Posted 6.16.18
  28. Abigail Gibson wrote:

    Some of my best memories was with my German Shepherd as we would take long walks together.

    Posted 6.17.18
  29. Kim Niland wrote:

    My best memories growing up is my parents taking us out for ice cream, then going to the drive in movies all packed in our station wagon.

    Posted 6.17.18
  30. Gina Ferrell wrote:

    My favorite memory growing up as a child is when going to my grandma’s and playing in the creek in the summer time.

    Posted 6.17.18
  31. Jacqueline Morillo wrote:

    Spending summers at the library reading

    Posted 6.17.18
  32. Kim wrote:

    my dad was military so we would hop on a military plane to fly the whole family (back in the 70s) to Berlin (when the wall was up) and Paris. It was fun. Saw a lot of great things.

    Posted 6.17.18
  33. Barbara Mayes wrote:

    we grew up poor but we had everything we needed..plenty of food and a roof over our heads. my brothers and I sure wanted bikes like our friends had one summer. little did we know, our dad had scrimped and saved and when school was out he bought all 3 of us a brand new bikes. we were all so happy and I learned how to ride a bike. I still remember dad holding on saying pedal, pedal, pedal! and then letting go and suddenly I was flying like a bird! my bike was my best friend..and took me on many adventures and always to the library where I would fill the basket with my favorite books and pedal home to read them.

    Posted 6.17.18
  34. Betsy Barnes wrote:

    Throwing the football with my Dad every Sunday before the games!

    Posted 6.17.18
  35. Laurie Strebe wrote:

    Going to the library for books weekly with my Mom. In the summer we often went more often. There was a book club and if us as kids read so many books per summer at the end we would get a certificate if you met your goals. A plain piece of paper/certificate was a Huge thrill and acomplishment back then!

    Posted 6.17.18
  36. John Smith wrote:

    “What are you best memories from growing up?” Sudden momentary friendships were always nice!

    Posted 6.17.18
  37. rajee wrote:

    Christmas in Disney World

    Posted 6.18.18
  38. shelly peterson wrote:

    going to the public pool with friends.

    Posted 6.18.18
  39. Arlene wrote:

    get a birthday cake from the bakeress

    Posted 6.18.18
  40. Abigail Gibson wrote:

    Good memories of my grandmother telling stupid jokes.

    Posted 6.18.18
  41. robin rue wrote:

    That sounds like an amazing book for kids. I would love to get a copy for my younger nieces and nephews.

    Posted 6.18.18
  42. Stacie wrote:

    That sounds like such a wonderful book! I love that powerful message and that it’s delivered in such an approachable way.

    Posted 6.18.18
  43. Amber wrote:

    Baking with my mom is one of my favorite childhood memories!

    Posted 6.18.18
  44. paige chandler wrote:

    I love m y dad reading to me before bedtime

    Posted 6.18.18
  45. Peter wrote:

    I have fantastic memories of my grandfather. Going on sales road trips with him and days at the trailer.

    Posted 6.18.18
  46. Reading to our kids has been a long-standing tradition. It builds a bond and encourages learning. Many fond memories with my grandmother.

    Posted 6.18.18
  47. Jeanine wrote:

    I lost a lot of my family when I was younger so I cherish all my memories from my childhood. There are so many. Reading with my family is now something I cherish and make sure I do with my kids often.

    Posted 6.18.18
  48. Kim Croisant wrote:

    Storytime is special to us too. My husband beats me to it every night, so lately, my son and I are having our own storytime during the day. It’s our rest period too.

    Posted 6.18.18
  49. It is so nice that now you can just leave your kids to read to each other and enjoy the experience. I have to get this book for my nieces and nephews.

    Posted 6.18.18
  50. Betsy Barnes wrote:

    Camping and road trip with my grandparents.

    Posted 6.18.18
  51. Jeffrey wrote:

    Going on vacation with my parents, we had nice times traveling.

    Posted 6.18.18
  52. Marcie W. wrote:

    This looks like a lovely story about diversity and love. Teaching kids that nothing matters more than family is so important.

    Posted 6.18.18
  53. Theresa wrote:

    What an awesome book! I think the artwork is incredible. I really liked learning more about his Asian heritage helped him come up with the concept for the illustrations.

    Posted 6.18.18
  54. Pam wrote:

    Story time is one of ,y granddaughter’s favorite parts of the day. This looks like a really sweet story.

    Posted 6.18.18
  55. shelly peterson wrote:

    Cooking with my Mom.

    Posted 6.19.18
  56. Amber wrote:

    Reading with my little baby brother was one of my favorite memories growing up

    Posted 6.19.18
  57. Annemarie LeBlanc wrote:

    This looks like a really awesome book for my grandchildren. My great grandparents are originally from France who migrated and settled in Canada. We keep the culture and heritage alive down to the 4th generation (and onwards). I will get this book and the other book of Minh Le, “Let Me Finish.”

    Posted 6.19.18
  58. I used to love reading to our kids when they were younger. Now I have nieces I read to! This looks like a great book! Thanks for sharing.

    Posted 6.19.18
  59. Katrina Gehman wrote:

    Family time is so important. My 15 year old has gotten out of the habit of reading but my 5 year old loves it and reads at a 2nd grade level.

    Posted 6.19.18
  60. Julie Matek wrote:

    My best memories growing up was having afternoon tea with my mom and grandmother:)

    Posted 6.19.18
  61. Eric V. wrote:

    My best memories growing up was when the whole entire family would get together for holidays!! 🙂

    Posted 6.19.18
  62. James Robert wrote:

    I had some awesome memories living near my grandparents and cousins as well. I got to spend time with two of my cousins who are male and get away from the girls for awhile. My grandparents however, both passed at an early age.

    Posted 6.19.18
  63. Betsy Barnes wrote:

    I have great memories of going to the drive-in, my sister and I in the back of my Dad’s station wagon.

    Posted 6.19.18
  64. Wendy R. wrote:

    I remember lots of family parties and reunions. Even funerals were fun and a way to reconnect with family.

    Posted 6.19.18
  65. Kiwi wrote:

    The artwork in this book is amazing. I also love the video explaining the drawing process its really beauitful!

    Posted 6.19.18
  66. Edye wrote:

    Learning to bake with grandma!

    Posted 6.19.18
  67. Mendy Dinsmore wrote:

    One of the best memories growing up was having family around all the time. Time goes by and families grow apart. I miss my cousins and seeing their children.

    Posted 6.19.18
  68. Dee wrote:

    Some of my best memories growing up included going camping with my family and cousins. 🙂

    Posted 6.19.18
  69. shelly peterson wrote:

    Spending time with my cousins.

    Posted 6.20.18
  70. Emily R. wrote:

    Some of my favorite memories are family trips, especially to the beach.

    Posted 6.20.18
  71. Eileen Boyce wrote:

    Playing hide and seek with my cousins.

    Posted 6.20.18
  72. Toni P. Sprouse wrote:

    Some of my best childhood memories are of having “watermelon parties” on my grandmother’s front porch with my cousin…juice dribbling down our chins and elbows onto our knobby knees, and then seeing who could spit the seeds the longest distance when the adults weren’t paying attention! I haven’t thought about that in years! I guess it’s time to introduce my little ones to this great Southern tradition!! Thanks for the intro to what looks like an awesome book!!

    Posted 6.20.18
  73. Betsy Barnes wrote:

    Having sleepovers with my friends.

    Posted 6.20.18
  74. Christina Gould wrote:

    My best memories growing up are going to see Disney movies! Thanks for the giveaway!

    Posted 6.20.18
  75. shelly peterson wrote:

    I loved time spent at my grandmas.

    Posted 6.21.18
  76. Betsy Barnes wrote:

    Chasing down the ice cream truck through my neighborhood.

    Posted 6.21.18
  77. Christina Gould wrote:

    My best memories growing up are going to the beach. Thanks for the giveaway!

    Posted 6.21.18
  78. Tamra Gibson wrote:

    Life can be funny. I didnt realize it at the time but one of my favorite memories is every night at bed time. My mother who always seemed so busy would come in at r bed time to ask us how r day was. After we talked we then would always say r prayers. It just recently hit me that as the kids age i find myself only reminding them to say their prayers

    Posted 6.21.18
  79. Dana Rodriguez wrote:

    I always loved it when my dad read to me. This is a nice book!

    Posted 6.21.18
  80. Eric V. wrote:

    I remember Halloween when such a fun time growing up. My parents used to bring my brother and I “trick-or-treating” around the entire town! Such really fun memories……and lots of candy too! 🙂

    Posted 6.21.18
  81. Susan Smith wrote:

    I enjoyed helping my Mom cook dinner and bake in the kitchen.

    Posted 6.21.18
  82. shelly peterson wrote:

    I loved camping with my family.

    Posted 6.22.18
  83. Betsy Barnes wrote:

    Playing a long game of Monopoly with my friends.

    Posted 6.22.18
  84. Eric V. wrote:

    When I was younger, my parents used to bring me over to grandma and grandpa’s house after church every Sunday. Now that I’m older, I bring my daughter over to my parents (grandma and grandpa’s) house after church on Sundays. 🙂 I had great memories with family when I was younger, and hoping my daughter with have those same great memories too! 🙂

    Posted 6.22.18
  85. Christina Gould wrote:

    My best memories from growing up are going to see 101 Dalmations. Thanks for the giveaway!

    Posted 6.23.18
  86. Amanda B. wrote:

    I fondly remember playing cards with my grandparents for hours.

    Posted 6.23.18
  87. Betsy Barnes wrote:

    Spending the weekends with my Grandmother.

    Posted 6.23.18
  88. elizabeth miller wrote:

    My best memories from growing up are spending the nights with my grandparents and grest grandparents.

    Posted 6.23.18
  89. Sarah L wrote:

    Fishing with my father and then cooking the fish over a campfire.
    Thanks for the contest.

    Posted 6.23.18
  90. Sarah L wrote:

    Going on vacations with my folks and my sister.

    Posted 6.24.18
  91. Betsy Barnes wrote:

    Playing kick ball with all my friends.

    Posted 6.24.18
  92. Christina Gould wrote:

    My best memories growing up are going to my first elementary school. Thanks for posting!

    Posted 6.24.18
  93. Tamra Gibson wrote:

    Another favorite memory is every Sunday eve my dad would take us to church. I liked it bc we could wear anything with my mom on 2nd shift but come Sunday morning we had dresses hats and gloves

    Posted 6.24.18
  94. Rosanne wrote:

    We had a summer cottage that we shared with our cousins. Playing in the bedroom that the 6 of us shared was one of the happiest memories of my life. We did not have toys but we played imaginatively

    Posted 6.24.18
  95. shelly peterson wrote:

    I loved days spent at the lake.

    Posted 6.25.18
  96. Betsy Barnes wrote:

    Catching fire flies and keeping them for a night light.

    Posted 6.25.18
  97. Sarah L wrote:

    Spending time in the library where my mother worked.

    Posted 6.25.18
  98. Tamra Gibson wrote:

    Another favorite memory was every Friday night we would watch Carol burnett and I knew that meant my Mom would make popcorn and let us have a Coke

    Posted 6.26.18
  99. shelly peterson wrote:

    I loved sleeping in the back yard during summer with my siblings.

    Posted 6.26.18
  100. Betsy Barnes wrote:

    Ging to Hersey Park with my family.

    Posted 6.26.18
  101. shelly peterson wrote:

    I have great memories with my neighborhood friends.

    Posted 6.27.18
  102. Betsy Barnes wrote:

    Having picnics at the local park.

    Posted 6.27.18
  103. Sarah L wrote:

    Learning how to fish from my father.

    Posted 6.27.18
  104. Christy Peeples DuBois wrote:

    My best memories growing up are every Sunday after church my whole family would go to my Mamows house for lunch. My Mamow had 8 children and they all still lived in the same small town and it was a lot of us. All of us cousins were so close and played and one uncle taught us to drive. He would load is all up in the cab of an antique truck back before seat belts and we just putted around anyway but looking back I don’t see how we all fit. I remember mostly tons of laughing. Laughter is such a good memory.

    Posted 6.28.18
  105. shelly peterson wrote:

    I loved our home made Halloween costumes my Mom and Grandma would make us.

    Posted 6.28.18
  106. jenny wrote:

    I grew up in the city, but every summer, I was sent off to my grandparents farm. We had a blast, riding four wheelers, fishing, and handling animals!

    Posted 6.28.18
  107. Leela wrote:

    Summers with my cousins.

    Posted 6.28.18
  108. Betsy Barnes wrote:

    Getting ice cream across the street from my Grandparents house.

    Posted 6.28.18
  109. Sarah L wrote:

    Playing games with my sister.

    Posted 6.28.18
  110. shelly peterson wrote:

    Going to the drive-in movies with my family.

    Posted 6.29.18
  111. S Riches wrote:

    Going on summer vacation to the beach.

    Posted 6.29.18
  112. Betsy Barnes wrote:

    Using cardboard boxes to slide down a grassy hill!

    Posted 6.29.18
  113. Sarah L wrote:

    Learning to roller skate.

    Posted 6.29.18
  114. shelly peterson wrote:

    Having BBQ’s with our neighbors.

    Posted 6.30.18
  115. Dana wrote:

    My best memories growing up I of times playing with my brother and sister and cousins. We played so hard! No video games or phones so we played outside, drank from water hoses, caught fireflies. Breaks my heart that kids today miss this.

    Posted 6.30.18
  116. Robin wrote:

    I remember all our family summer vacations.

    Posted 6.30.18
  117. kathy pease wrote:

    My best memories are the holidays with my Mom and brother

    Posted 6.30.18
  118. Playing hop scotch and jump rope outside with my sister and friends.

    Posted 6.30.18
  119. stella methvin wrote:

    roaming the neighborhood with friends and going to each others homes and not worrying about strangers and just having fun OUTSIDE

    Posted 6.30.18
  120. Hesper Fry wrote:

    My best memories are christmas and vacations with my family.

    Posted 6.30.18
  121. Julie Waldron wrote:

    My best memories are when family from New Mexico visited.

    Posted 6.30.18
  122. Donna porter wrote:

    My best memories growing up was the weekend when my dad and I stayed up as late as we wanted, snacked and watched horror movies.

    Posted 6.30.18
  123. Betsy Barnes wrote:

    Swimming at the lake with my cousins.

    Posted 6.30.18
  124. Sarah L wrote:

    Watching the bears in Yellowstone Park.

    Posted 6.30.18
  125. Brandon Sparks wrote:

    When I would spend time with my dad. I sure miss him..

    Posted 6.30.18
  126. Tamra Gibson wrote:

    Another favorite memory from my Dad who is hone now. When I got in trouble by him his punishment was I had to sit on the steps for 15 minutes but I was allowed to be on the phone during that time. I usually got in trouble if I said outloud I was po’d bc of something that happen those 3 letters were a crossword to him lol

    Posted 6.30.18
  127. Lindsay A. wrote:

    Some of my best memories are probably of my childhood animals – I lived on a small farm & we had many!

    Posted 6.30.18

Comments are closed.