Big Hero 6 Movie Review: A Fun Family Adventure #BigHero6Event

Big-Hero-6-Movie-Poster

Today is the day, folks! The day that Big Hero 6 opens in theatres! I had the pleasure of watching this movie during the LA premiere and I cannot WAIT to take the kids this weekend because I KNOW they will love this film.

I don’t want to give too much away. I know it’s a review, but I still want you to go with an open mind and heart. I know as a parent, there are a few questions you might have and I want to answer those for you.

Screen Shot 2014-11-07 at 12.37.39 PM

Hiro is a character that you will instantly fall in love with.  He is relatable and super intelligent and unfortunately has suffered a bit of loss in his life.  I think we can all relate to this boy. Because of his sadness, he is unmotivated to do much during his days despite his family’s efforts to get him to do so.

Screen Shot 2014-11-07 at 12.38.34 PM

In a time when he needs him the most, Hiro meets Baymax – a nurse robot that is designed to treat patients in need of assistance. After scanning the little boy, Baymax determines that Hiro needs emotional support. And off on a journey of discovery they go.

Screen Shot 2014-11-07 at 12.33.34 PM

Of course, every good journey runs into an evil villain. Here’s a view of what the Big Hero’s 6 villain looks like. A little scary… but not really. Completely doable for children.

Screen Shot 2014-11-07 at 12.33.22 PM

While Baymax was designed to be a nurse bot, Hiro decided he needs some upgrades. That’s where the suit comes into play. I actually went into a Disney Studio and did a voice over for this scene. Stay tuned! Going to post that one in a bit. 🙂

Screen Shot 2014-11-07 at 12.43.32 PM

 

Even though Baymax’s suit makes him a superhero, his bones remain the same — a gentle / nurturing robot looking to only heal. There are a few lessons throughout the movie that make this one a MUST-SEE.

Revenge is not the answer.

We will all learn to heal and love again even through despair.

We need to surround ourselves with people who lift us up and love us. 

And then of course … there’s this:

It’s ok to be SMART!! 🙂 

I am PRAYING that more movies come out moving forward that show children using their intelligence and taking pride in it. I was SO HAPPY to see the heroes of the movie having such a hand in technology. They weren’t born with super powers – they created the devices they needed because they educated themselves with the required knowledge. Anyone can do this with enough practice. You don’t need to find a radioactive spider to be great. (Although I wouldn’t mind finding a radioactive spider btw)

Are you planning on seeing Big Hero 6?? I cannot WAIT!!!

Official Site: http://www.disney.com/BigHero6

Like Big Hero 6 on Facebook: https://www.facebook.com/DisneyBigHero6

Follow Walt Disney Animation Studios on Twitter: http://www.twitter.com/DisneyAnimation

Follow Walt Disney Animation Studios on Tumblr: http://disneyanimation.tumblr.com

Follow Walt Disney Animation Studios on Instagram: http://instagram.com/disneyanimation

* Disney flew me out to LA to attend the Big Hero 6 premiere. All opinions are my own.

About Me


Check out Vera Sweeney's media kit here.

Subscribe to Lady and the Blog

Looking for weekly updates? Want to receive every recipe, free printable, and contest notification? I would love to have you part of my newsletter community.

.